Sorry, I can’t be sorry for who I am


03.10.2019, Washington DC

 

Dear friend,

I am sorry that I am not sorry for who I am

If you thought I was too much of available when you needed me

I was, that’s my nature

I have always been there when you needed me

I have always listened to you when you needed to talk

I have always visited when you needed a shoulder to cry

Only thing I have done to you is that

I always wanted happiness for you

I always wanted to see you succeed

I even helped you with your work, remember?

So, was I only a friend in need for you?

Because you were never there

When you were happy

When you succeeded

When you were out of trouble

When you were not feeling down

You asked me about my story

I have been crystal clear

As I considered you as a true friend

You always hid things from me

But that was ok

Because I could see things

Even if you didn’t share

I know your story

I know what you have done

But I never judged you

For who you are

But now, you just proved that

You were not my friend

You were not worthy to hear my story

You were not worthy of my compassion

But, wait

It’s me and I can’t change

I can’t be sorry for who I am

What I did for you!

One thought on “Sorry, I can’t be sorry for who I am

  1. Very symbolic poem indeed, Nilima. It’s a plot of two characters of very close friends. But both of them have their own separate story where they are the hero. They do not wish to sacrifice for their friend by providing them the space of being hero in their story. Both of them want the same role “the hero” and do not compromise with other roles in life. But by the mid of the story, it also tells that sometime it’s ok to be the hero in our own story rather than becoming a hero in other people’s story.
    It’s also good to remain a hero as long as the time and space permit us. And even sometime it’s good to forgive people who have been knowing or unknowing making feel us low. Its our chice just to remain as a human being or think and act by being a human. Isn’t it Nilima.

Leave a comment