The long pending trek to Tshorolpa 4580m and Dudhkunda 4720m


Looks like this is the year of checking off all the pending tasks and wishes. This brought me to this last-minute trek to Tshorolpa as well. I grew up reading about this glacier lake since childhood and I had written a beautiful essay when I was in school. I had never visited the lake, but I had heard so much about it on the news. Even my teacher was surprised reading the essay.

After completing my long pending final research work, which I planned to complete in a week but then completed it in 3 days, I started exploring if anyone was going on any short trek. Then I found a group from my hometown who were planning to go the day after and I said, ok, I am joining. Later I came to know that they were planning for a family trek, and I joined just like that. Nevertheless, the trek was beautiful, I walked ahead of the group mostly and arranged food and lodging since I reached early everywhere.

Na was the destination to reach Tshorolpa. I felt the altitude in the night as I was feeling uncomfortable breathing and couldn’t sleep for hours. This was a bit surprising for me as I never felt the altitude even when I was at the 5600m at Kalapatthar and this was at the elevation of 4183m. However, I felt ok in the morning and followed the group who decided to go to Dudhkunda 4720 m first.

From Na to Dudhkunda, it is so easy to miss the main walking trail as the bushes hides them behind it. While going up, the group was everywhere. We were joined by two other small groups too. After walking for almost 3 and half hours, some of the group members wanted to give up and go back. Where a few of us were still up to give it a bit more try. As I walked a bit further up, I saw the glimpse of the lake and I screamed ‘ Dudhkunda Bhetiyo’ (I found Dudhkunda).

Dudhkunda was beautiful with half frozen water and 360 views of the Himalayas. It was so peaceful. We walked in the morning with just a cup of tea and some Satu. A guy who joined our group that morning, had brought a mobile stove and some pots and he cooked instant noodles for us. He was feeling sick because of altitude sickness, however he decided to stay a little longer and prepare the noodles for us. It felt like life savior food then. He left after the food was served. In a few minutes, when we all left the place, I again met the guy and I saw him vomiting. I offered some pills and carried his backpack. I think the pay it forward kindness naturally happens in the mountain.

As we were headed downhill, we were showered with snowfall. So, our plan to go through shortcut route through glacier to Tshorolpa had to be dropped. However, on the way back, we found a very beautiful view point where we could see mesmerizing Tshorolpa. We walked back convincing ourselves that not every destination needs to be touched and seen closely, consoling ourselves from the frustration that we all were hiding.

Walking through the snowfall, we finally reached the bridge where the two ways to Dudhkunda and Tshorolpa separates. I was walking ahead from the group as usual with two other fellow trekkers. As we reached the Bridge the snowfall just stopped completely and I had a great urge to go to Tshorolpa so much. I knew that the weather would turnout to be fine. The group arrived as we waited to see if they want to go to but they didn’t.

I decide to go to Tshorolpa as I didn’t want to go back without looking at it from close. So, I walked and the two other fellow trekkers followed too. At this point, none of us had a single drop of water and I had a chocolate bar which I shared among three of us. I was dehydrated and thank God it was right after the snow fall. We kept on eating snow and that kept all three of us going.

When we reached Tshorolpa, the weather was fine and the view was perfect. We made it, I made it! Tshorolpa, the long pending list was checked off from the list.

This beautiful Beding village will make you forget of all the uncertainties of life

Itinarary: Dudhkunda 4720m and Tshorolpa 4580 m

(First week of May)

Day 1, ktm to chetchet (1430m), trek starts from Chetchet

Day 2, Trek to Dongang (2800m) via Simigaun (2020m), Surmuche (2470m) and Kyalche (2760m)- almost 9 to 10 hours, only uphill

Day 3, Trek to Na Village (4183m) via Beding (3693m), 9 to 10 hours uphill and some easy trails in between

Day 4, Trek to Dudhkunda 7720m from Na (4 hours uphill and 2 to 1.5 hours back) and Tshorolpa 4580m both if possible and back to Beding, around 10 hours and more

Day 5, Beding to Chetchet, and back to Charikot by vehicle

Day 6 charikot to ktm

(Or Day 5 Tshorolpa and come back to Dongang;

Day 6, Dongang to chotchet trek and back to Charikot by vehicle;

Day 7_Charikot to ktm)

2 thoughts on “The long pending trek to Tshorolpa 4580m and Dudhkunda 4720m

Leave a comment